Posted by: armedbear1746 | December 28, 2009

Adobo Chicken

Over the Christmas Holidays, I have been reviewing other cooking blogs and noticed how much better it is to have pictures.  This is one of those recipes that I, indeed, wish I had a camera.   But not to worry, Folks.   It’s in the works!  I can’t guarantee that there will be pictures of every recipe (especially since I post daily), But I will put my best effort forward.

Adobo Chicken

5 lb cut-up chicken (skin on)
4 tbsp oil
2 whole garlic cloves- crushed
1 tbsp mono-sodium glutomate (feel free to leave this out)
1/2 cup vinegar
1 tsp salt
4 tbsp soy sauce

Saute the garlic in oil until browned. Mix rest of your ingredients in a bowl. Put the chicken in a pan with garlic and brown it. Mix other ingredients; pour them in the pan and bring to a boil. Cook uncovered until chicken is tender and sauce has thickened.

Responses

  1. Hey,

    Thanks for visiting my blog & leaving a comment 🙂

    I’ve never tried ‘Adobo’ anything.. but really, really want to! Maybe I should start with this recipe?

    My husband loves scallops.. I’m sure he’d enjoy your last scallop recipe.. But they’re so expensive here.. $35+ a kilogram.

    I had the same ‘insight’ as you re: blogs and photo’s making them more appealing. It takes much more time & effort to do it obviously.. but I like the results. However.. you then have Julie Powell (of Julie & Julia) who didn’t have pictures on her blog .. and she is a published author now ..and there’s the movie too! However, she drops the *f* bomb too much (for my tastes).. so I struggle with her culinary writings.

    • Quite delicious, unless you dont like spicy!

    • Yeah, I would really like to post photos, but unfortunately, I don’t have a fancy camera like these other guys. Also, If I posted a photo of every recipe, It would be hard for me to post everyday.

      One of the other things I noticed about cooking blogs (other than that Pics make it more interesting) is that I hated it when people didn’t post on a regular basis. I will “Favorite” a few good looking blogs and go back day after day, only to find that they post only once in a blue moon. I would rather post daily and give people fresh material, and work on the photos as I can.

  2. Hi Armedbear!

    This looks really yummy!

    I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

    Keep in touch!

    • I wish I could tell you where I got that recipe, but alas, I cannot. I checked out your 1001 and it’s an interesting project.

  3. […] Armedbear’s Adobo Chicken […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

