Posted by: armedbear1746 | March 15, 2010

Kalbi / Galbi (Korean Short Ribs)

When I worked in Oahu (Wheeler AAF) I was introduced to a WONDERFUL thing called Kalbi which, of course, are Korean Short Ribs!  Since my return from paradise, it has been one of my missions in life to have more.   Even though I’ve got a couple of recipes for Kalbi, I got lazy and tried one of those Kalbi Marinades you can get at Asian food markets.

Okay, So I got the marinade,  I got some REALLY thick beef sirloins sliced thin circa kalbi.  Marinated for 24 hours and (okay I didn’t grill it, but still…)  browned it on the stove in a non-stick pan.   After the sauce carmelized, I put the meat back in and swirled the meat around in it.

I gotta admit, it was pretty good stuff!   BUT…  Fresh ingredients beats bottled marinade ANYDAY!

Leave a Reply

Categories

