Posted by: armedbear1746 | April 17, 2010

Our Local BBQ Contest

A local charity held a WHOPPIN’ BBQ Contest this weekend!  I’ll bet there were at least 100 BBQ Teams out there all with samples of Brisket and Pulled Pork for the general public!   I’d say about 85%  of it was average bbq that you could get just about anywhere, but that other 15% was some REALLY excellent BBQ!

One of my pet peeves about alot of these contests are some of the corporate sponsors.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m greatful for their sponsorship of the events.  But 0ne of our local BBQ manufacturers (whom I will patronize in the future because it’s locally made) flooded the place with it’s own sauce, seemingly squeezing out some of the home made sauces.   I LOVE home made sauces!!

anyhoo,  the entire time I was thinking that I could give these guys a run for their money if i had a bigger smoker/grill rig.   I wish I could put my money where my mouth is (yum), but it wouldn’t be enough to make it worth my while.

Leave a Reply

Categories

